Git is an application that provides a version control system, similar to subversion. This service is located gitlab.fib.upc.edu server and git clients are available in all PC at the Labs.
Every student has a space to create projects that can incorporate to their practices and be managed under the Git system revisions. The space available for student projects is 100 MB.
To access GitLab, you must connect the GitLab page and use the Racó username and password.
GitLab Quick guide
When you access the version control server gitLab FIB, an account will be created, Then you can configure your profile (there are parts that are fixed and some come from your UPC identity). Associated with this account you will have a repository where you can create the projects you want to work with.
From the git client, you can access the project in two ways:
When you're in:
In the "Activity" will see a log of the activity that has been done by your user.
To create a new project you must go to the icon with a cross
The visibility of the project is private by default, but can be configured, if you change it to public, everyone can access to your project.
After creating the project itself, gitLab tells you how to access via ssh or https.
Every PC on the labs have a git client to work with.
For more information on the FIB gitLab consult the Manual of GitLab (CAT)
You also have help documentation at the website that can be useful:
For server users, documentation you should look is User Documentation.
Latest information about git can be found on the website of the software: https://git-scm.com/doc
How to access to gitlab.fib.upc.edu?
May I set it to not ask me username and password in the command line https?
Is Gitlab accessible from a secure environment (exams)?
Is there a limit of disk space?
How can I free up some space in a project that I've spent all?
You can delete projects that no longer interest you / use. You first make a download of the project, from gitlab.fib.upc.edu you can download it as a zip.
To remove it go to gitlab, Projects -> settings -> Dangerous settings and check "Remove Project".
Recreate the project that gave you problems quota.
Note: Doing this will lose commits / issues / etc. associated with the project.
Delete the local copy that has been error files that happen to share.
Let Clone Project LOCAL remote (so it will not exceed the files).
Can we create groups?