Erasmus Mundus Master in Big Data Management and Analytics

You are here

After 5 successful editions, IT4BI becomes BDMA!

The Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree IT4BI has successfully welcomed five generations of students since its opening in September 2012. To better align with the new needs of research, education, and industry with respect to Big Data, the IT4BI consortium has been working on the follow-up of IT4BI.

We are pleased to announced that this follow-up programme will be funded by the European Commission under the Erasmus+ Programme, and its new name is Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree Programme in Big Data Management and Analytics (BDMA).

BDMA first intake will be 2017-2019, thus ensuring a transition from IT4BI to BDMA.


This is an European Master set up by a Consortium composed by five institutions::

  • Université Libre de Bruxelles/Vrije Universiteit Brussel (ULB) (coordinating institution)
  • Université François Rabelais de Tours (UFRT)
  • Technische Universität Berlin (TUB)
  • Technische Universiteit Eindhoven (TU/e)
  • Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC-Barcelona Tech)


The BDMAis aimed to students with a Bachelor of Science (or degree equivalent to 180 ECTS credits), with a major in Computer Science. Applicants must provide proof of their English proficiency, corresponding to the level B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.




2 academic years


120 ECTS credits


BDMA tuition fees are determined by the University Consortium that organizes the studies. These fees are the same for all the participating universities. For more information, please contact the website of the program.