Saltar al contingut Menu
  • Home
  • Information
  • Contact
  • Map

Erasmus Mundus Master in Distributed Computing

Erasmus Mundus European Master in Distributed Computing (EMDC)
The EMDC programme offers education of high international standard as well as cultural experience from two different European countries and a double degreee from two universities. Set up by a consortium of the following universities:
  • Kungliga Teknisla Högskolan (KTH)
  • Instituto Superior Técnico - Universidade Técnica de Lisboa (IST)
  • Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC - Barcelona Tech)
OrientationHigh excellence master, research and professional oriented
Duration2 academic years
Deadline of pre-registratrionThe 2014 application procedure was the last. The Erasmus Mundus programme in Distributed Computing will not open for application for 2015.
Entry places24
Study load120 ECTS
RecipientsThe EMDC is aimed at students from all over the world. Candidates must have a Bachelor degree in Computer Science, with excellent grades for courses in Operating Systems, Networking, Programming Languages, Computer Architectures and Theory of Computing. Applicants must provide proof of their English proficiency: IELTS 6.5 (no section lower than 5.5), TOEFL PBT 575 (written 4.5), TOEFL IBT 90 (writeen 20), University of Cambridge/University of Oxford Certificates (CAE, CofP, DES, minimum grade C)
More information


The Erasmus Mundus European Master in Distributed Computing was approved by the EU-commission in July 2009. It is a cooperation between Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Sweden, Instituto Superior Tecnologico (IST) in Portugal and Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC). It is a two-year Master's programme including built-in mobility for the students.

The EMDC aims at giving the best possible foundation for a career in research and development of scalable and reliable distributed systems. After the program, students should not only understand and be able to use large distributed systems but they should be capable of designing and constructing such systems.


The programme comprises three semesters of course work and one semester for thesis work, 120 ECTS in total.

For the first year of studies, students enter at IST or UPC, where courses cover the core aspects of distributed computing with tailored specializations. The specific profiles offered at IST and UPC address two different sets of concerns in design, development, evaluation, and evolution of distributed computing systems: overall system reliability at IST (fault-tolerance, interoperability, autonomic systems), performance and scalability at UPC (performance measurement, tuning, large-scale systems).

The third semester is completed at KTH and contains advanced courses that integrate the contents of previous semesters. This motivates students to develop large-scale projects integrating both common and complementary skills acquired earlier, and developing research methodology and scientific writing, essential to pursue further studies and research.

The programme concludes with a master’s thesis supervised by one of the three institutions.

Career prospects

The EMDC programme gives its students the best possible foundation for a career in research and development of scalable and reliable distributed systems.

Upon completion of the programme, students will not only understand and be able to use large distributed systems, but they will also be capable of designing and constructing such systems.

In addition, the programme’s built-in mobility enhances the cultural awareness and adaptability of all its participants. These are highly sought-after attributes in the global job market of today.

Graduates of EMDC will be employable within a wide range of industries, possess the potential to start their own innovative businesses or to continue their studies towards a PhD.


Erasmus Mundus is an EU initiative supporting university co-operation at the master’s and doctoral levels. It aims to provide top-quality European education to attract the best students from all over the world. The programmes are offered by a group of partner universities and include studies in at least two European countries.

The scholarships cover tuition fees, installation costs and monthly allowance.
  • Non-EU/EEA-citizens may receive up to € 48 000 over two years
  • EU/EEA-citizens may receive up to € 23 000 over two years
The exact level varies according to specific costs borne by the holder of the grant.

logo FIB © Barcelona school of informatics - Contact - RSS
This website uses cookies to offer you the best experience and service. If you continue browsing, it is understood that you accept our cookies policy.
Classic version Mobile version